Doctoral researchers of the IMPRS-SHH typically obtain their degree from Friedrich Schiller University (FSU). The doctoral examination entitles the holder to the international academic degree “Doctor of Philosophy” (Ph.D.) or, alternatively, the German doctoral degree “Doctor of Natural Sciences” (Dr. rer. nat.) or “Doctor of Philosophy” (Dr. phil.). The degrees are considered to be equivalent.

Doctoral degrees are awarded by the respective “Fakultät” of FSU. Each doctoral researcher has to apply for admission to one “Fakultät” (see here). In certain circumstances, PhD students may obtain their degree through another university. In this case, the PhD regulations of this other university would apply.